comments on these joists please

any comments? this is a city rowhome, all brick, approx 100 years old. i have little experience with these types of houses. There has been some recent renovations and the way that these joists barely seem to be hanging on by loose bricks scared me a bit. what do you guys think?

also, is the cap on the waste line on the last picture typical? I don’t think I have seen this before. thanks.

Possibly they were originaly cantilevered, rotted and were replaced.

But they are not properly supported.

I would recommnend repairs by a competent contractor to prevent collapse and possible injuries.

What the joists are sitting on can’t be loose or crumbling. If they are, they need to be supported better.

IMO, I think the waste cap is probably ok. Probably not the best solution, but one that will work, and is easily repaired if it becomes a problem.

What is the bearing surface requirement for a floor joist on the foundation?

How many sides of airspace must a joist have when installed in this manner?

It’s a 100-year-old house. The entire brick wall “is the foundation”.
I have seen many 100 year plus homes that don’t have this good of a support and they are still functional.

I would recommend that you study up on this type of construction as it obviously does not have the same requirements as new construction that we perform today.

It takes a special buyer to own a 100 year plus home, floors and walls are never plumb and square and if they want to remodel, there are special considerations they will have to learn and apply.

You are there to determine the functionality of building not determine its capacity and strength.

This is obviously an upgrade. Recommend the buyer follow-up and ensure proper building permits and inspections were obtained and performed.

[size=2]If you don’t see a specific defect associated with this type of construction, simply report what you see so the client knows what they’re buying.