Efficient home inspections

Hey guys, I am a new home inspector around the Waynesboro PA area, I wanted to ask anyone for tips or tricks on how to make my inspections be a bit more efficient. I did an inspection the other day on a 1800 sq/ft. 3 bed 2 bath house from 1920 and it just seemed like there was one thing after another that I was finding and Ive been praised by these clients for my thoroughness but I’ve also been told it shouldn’t take 8 hrs to complete. Because of the findings, it has been sort of challenging for me to trim the time back. Plus I’m still getting familiar with the home inspector pro software. Any ideas help. Thanks.

Yeah, those older homes might be little, but they can be exhausting to document even if they seem to be in decent shape. Just so much to explain. You’re on the right track, though. Impress the hell out of your clients. You’ll get faster on-site.
A few tips that may or may not help you. Don’t fill in every field on the software while you’re at the inspection. Use the software as a guide (so you don’t forget a category) and as a place to stick actual defect notes, but rely more on your photos. Use hand signals in your photos so you know which ones you want to write about later.

3 Likes

I’ll try not relying on the software as much or making sure every field is filled in and rather let the house guide me and not the software. Thanks.

1 Like

Am I correct in assuming that you are attempting to write your report on-site?
Well, if you are… STOP IT!
You need to focus on one thing only while on site… INSPECTING… especially on older (Century) homes! These are my bread-and-butter inspections. My average time for a home you described is 3.0 hours. I’ve been inspecting since 1996.
Purchase a REAL camera, (doesn’t need to be very expensive), and use your phone as a ‘backup’ not your ‘primary’! Take quality pics, and a couple of each item you deem an issue. One close in, and one overview. More if the situation dictates.