Getting paid after colsing?

Hi All,

Newbie here. Been hired to do a stand alone pool inspt. Seller is paying. Realtor tells me I will be paid at closing. How common is this. Realtor is an agent for largest firm here. Stoked to get foot in that door, worried about getting PAID. Have signed contract.

I would never do it…Get paid at or before the inspection.

Your relationship is with your client. What happens if it doesn’t close and falls through for some reason. I never did it, ever.

Listen to Roy.
Or, at least get a valid credit card that you will be charging if you don’t get paid at closing.

But, I’m with Roy, get paid before or at the inspection. Talk to you client!

I’ve done a couple inspections recently for people I knew so I wasn’t worried about not getting paid until afterward. But if it’s someone else, I would get paid up front. It’s been mentioned before on the forum that if waiting for closing to get paid, they can let it slide and you wouldn’t be able to put a lien on the property because it would then belong to someone else. Plus, filing and going through the court process for a relatively small amount may not be worth it. So, get paid up front. Getting in with that realtor would be good but simply asking for payment upfront like the contract says is setting precedence, not being difficult to work with.

Make sure you have credit card info, that way you can run it through at closing date, regardless of what happens.

Your contract (aka PIA) is supposed to spell out exactly! how you will be getting paid so it’s not up in the air for others to decide and argue. Closings can take months, your job is done! why would you want to wait this long? Think! GL.

Think of it like this. You go to buy a car from a dealership and tell them “I’ll take this truck, im already pre-approved so ill drive this home today and you can receive my money as soon as the bank sends your funds”.
No dealership would ever do that. Why should you be that dealership?

1 Like