Handrail required for how many steps? 3 or 4?

The NACHI practice questions have two different answers for this question:

OR

So, which is the correct one?

I think the confusion on this one is some areas require different things at different moments in time. My area requires 4 steps.

1 Like

You showing an outdated 2009 IRC code.

R311.7.8 Handrails

Handrails shall be provided on not less than one side of each flight of stairs with four or more risers.

1 Like

@labstein That makes sense, but this is the practice questions provided to study for the exam. How do I study for an exam when I can’t figure out which will be the correct answer on the exam?

@ccurrins I’m just showing the practice questions provided by InterNACHI. I’m studying for my licence and I need to know which will be the answer expected if this question shows up on the exam.

Christopher has it right it is outdated. Everyone agrees with you that it needs and should be updated. Currently my answer would always be four.

2 Likes

@labstein Thanks for clarifying that. I’ll go with four then, which fits with what Ben has been saying, sort of. Ben says the code allows three rises but Ben doesn’t.

The IRC has consistently required handrails for 4 or more risers since 2006 (R311.5.6)(2018 IRC 311.7.8). Prior to that the wording required handrails for steps with a total rise of 30 inches (R312.1- IRC 2000, 2003). BOCA code before the ICC may have required handrails based on number of treads but to the best of my knowledge IRC never did.

The second question in the OP is simply wrong.

(2009 IRC) - R311.7.7 Handrails. Handrails shall be provided on at least
one side of each continuous run of treads or flight with four
or more risers.

2 Likes

There is a difference between a step and a riser, as well as if it is even a step…

1 Like