Home Inspection Contract is inportant !

http://www.workingre.com/why-is-your-inspection-contract-important/

Why is Your Inspection Contract Important?
By Joseph Denneler,Esquire
I am a lawyer whospecializes in the defense of home inspectors in litigation.
I’ve been representing homeinspectors for many years and my law practice is almost entirely dedicated to this work.
Being in this position has given me a wealthof knowledge about inspector claims.
Once I became established in this field and my practice began to grow, I also started teaching risk management to home inspectors all over the United States.
An inspection contract isan important and necessary risk management tool that provides the first level of defense to an inspector.
Many states that areregulated require that a contract be used to establish the scope of the services to be provided to the client.
Even in states that have no such regulations,an inspection contract may be required by your insurance carrier.
Why? Well, more often thannot, your inspection contract can prevent significant legal expenses defending a claim in court.
It is also the best way to let your clientknow exactly what is included and what is not.
Many homebuyers only go through the process ofbuying a home once or twice in their lifetime.
They are not familiar with the ins and outs ofa home inspection.
A well-written contractgives the client all of the information needed to make an informed purchase ofthe services of an inspector.
State Specific
Based on numerous conversations with inspectors about claims over the years, aswell as the many cases I’ve handled personally, I have learned some universal truths.
One is that many claims arise from ambiguity,particularly ambiguity about what a home inspector does and, more importantly,what a home inspector does not do.
I realized that in many cases claims could beavoided with a clear, concise and accurate inspection contract.