HVAC length of pipe from return

I have a situation on an inspection I did today I need some help with. The homeowner stated that the air flow from the registers in some rooms is stronger than others. When I got to the house and went in the attic I discovered multiple problems with the ductwork; crimped piping, improperly installed support straps, branch distribution laying over the return pipe, etc. Overall the system is a mess and could have been arranged better. There are 2 returns going into the attic unit.

My question is in the ductwork from the main ceiling return going into the unit is about 35 ft long. I’ve never seen one this long before. What generally is the appropriate distance for this? I have attached a photo of the attic.

I have no idea. I’m not a system designer. Refer it out if you believe there is a problem.

You have all kinds of imporper bends in those ducts. Go to the Air Difussion council - they give you the standards for duct installation.

Like Larry said, get a local HVAC contractor out there to sort it out.

Guys there stands the problem local contractor was the one that made the mess to begin with do you really think he is going to say its wrong:roll:

No 35 feet is not an excessive run for a return air see them that long all of the time matter of fact I installed a longer return air run than that in my own house this last summer works just great.

Hubert correct me if wrong but are you saying you think the weaker outflow from some registers might be due to the long return?

Just wondering as I do not think it would effect some and not others.

It would just be weaker overall from my understanding.

Did you trace the weaker register ducting from the attic to see if it was bent?