Inspector sub contract

Hey guys I am a former member here and have about 7 years experience as a home inspector and 15 more in home building or remodeling.
I closed my HI business due to slow real estate market in my home area. I had to take a full time job with benefits for the family.
I recently was asked to come on board with a HI franchise owner about 40 miles from my home . They will supply all insurance and software, I supply vehicle, gas, most tools and my experience. They made an offer of a percentage pay for inspections they booked and a little higher for inspections from agents that I brought in from my home town.
I’m looking for advice from other inspectors that may have either worked for other companies or have employed inspectors to see what is a fair “going rate” of inspection percentage. I feel 30% is a little low but it may be what a national average would be. if I was a newbie then I could see this amount due to training etc.
Any thoughts or advise would be greatly appreciated.

I am not working under an agreement like that, but have talked to inspectors who are working as 1099 contractors for inspection firms, not franchisees and they are between 35% and 50%. As 1099 contractors, they aren’t doing any marketing, bookkeeping or business related tasks. Just inspections and cashing their “commission” checks. 30% seems low, especially if you are doing more than just the inspections/reports.

Since you will bring everything except insurance and most clients, (software is a cheap benefit and a negative if you need to learn a new system), and are 7 years experienced, I personally would not participate for less than 50-60%.

Note that different areas of the country will demand different fee’s. Large metro (New York), small metro (Omaha), rural (Owatonna), etc…

I would agree with Jeff.
Way back in the 80s, I worked for a company that paid 33%. I collected the data, and then, the secretary had to decipher what I wrote. That was it.