market saturation

Originally Posted By: cmacgillivray
This post was automatically imported from our archived forum.

I’m going to start inspecting homes in the state of Illinois and I was wandering if anybody thought that the home inspection market was starting to become saturated. Lawyers and real estate agents are a dime a dozen and I’m hoping this is not the case with home inspectors. I’m a engineer that is finding a passion with home inspection but I would hate to change fields if I’m going to find that my phone will not ring. Just a question I thought I would through out there and see if anybody had some insight on the subject. Thanx for the time

Christopher Angus MacGillivray

Originally Posted By: rhinck

Chris,

I passed my license test in March. I have done approx. 75-80 inspections to date. I set a goal of 100 in my first year- so I'm quite pleased. I do build homes as well- so waiting for the phone to ring doesn't come into play quite as much as if this was my only source of income. I hope to build this business up to that though! I'm in the Peoria area and there doesn't seem to be a glut of inspection companies yet. It is truly a "people business". You need excellent "people skills" to get your piece of the market. Hope this helps.

Rick

Originally Posted By: ecrofutt

The best advice, and I wish it had been available when I started is:

Read every message thread on the NACHI Message Board.

Read very message thread on the Inspectionnews.com Message Board.

On each board with the General, Misc, Advertising, Insurance, Legal, State Legislation type forums.

If you still want to do it after reading all that, then dig into the meat of Electric, Plumbing, Structural, HVAC, Roofing, etc. and read all those messages.

The advice and guidance and hints and tips, etc in those threads is invaluable and will most likely never be adequately repeated.

Good Luck.

Don't forget to get your Illinois Home Inspector Licenses before you start inspecting.