Panel near water source

As an inspector I always have reservations about panels that are near utility sinks. At least we have the workspace clearance requirements that can sometimes work in our favor. I just saw this one today that was the best example of disregard I have seen so far.

Typically not a problem if the work space requirements are met. According to the NEC that’s all that is required.

I understand that it is typically not a problem and that there are no specific NEC requirements in regards to water sources and panel installations. That why a home inspector is not a “code inspector”, we can also make general recommendations for safety that code does not cover, such as these types of installations. Many homeowners would believe “since it is allowed, it must be safe” which obviously is not the case. On the same note, it is not allowed because it doesn’t meet the clearance for work space.

Why would a panel near a sink be unsafe?

Someone might try to sit in the tub full of water while working in the panel. :smiley:

The code is biased towards life safety. If the code making panels are not seeing data to require a change preventing a water source next to a panel why do you think it is an issue? You would do more to enhance safety by banning cars or stairs than worrying about the panel.

Considering other changes like requiring shutoff for spas in non-dwelling spaces were made after one death I guess this “hazard” is really a non issue were the workspace requirements met.

I agree with all of you in that if the workspace requirements are met, then there is no hazard. What gets me is that people ignore the workspace requirement quite often and do not realize or do not care that there are other inherent dangers and issues other than “not having proper workspace”.

So, was that appliance circuit GFCI protected?

at least they have an air gap for the washer drain hose!