Picture problem in Version 5

After resisting for a long time, I finally upgraded to Version 5. Now that I have officially paid for Version 5, I’m going to complain about it. There are several things I don’t like, but one of the most annoying things is the PDF rendering of pictures in the reports. I have attached two files - the same page from the same report from Version 4 and Version 5. Each time the report was printed using an Adobe Acrobat pdf print driver, which I have been using successfully with Version 4 for many years. You’ll see in the Version 4 page that each of the photos and pictures is clearly outlined with its own border. In Version 5 some of the borders are missing sides, and it looks terrible. This is something that can’t be blamed on Acrobat because it works OK with Version 4 but not with Version 5. Also, all the picture default options are set the same for both versions. I can’t find anything that is different.

When I print the report, I use the Homegauge option to print “Homegauge Internet Ready (html)”, and when the computer print option appears, I use the Acrobat PDF print driver. Yes, I tried using the Homegauge PDF rendering machine, and it does the same thing, with the addition of horrible overall spacing, so that is worse.

I use the grid print formats: “Format 4” in version 4 and “Grid 3” in Version 5. It’s the “Grid 3” that is screwing up the picture borders. Other formats are not a possibility because the grid format is very popular with my clients, and I’m not willing to change to another format.

Does anybody have any ideas what’s causing this? Please don’t tell me to use the Services and forget about PDF, etc., etc., because the whole upload/download, etc. thing doesn’t work in my market for many reasons. It’s fast and furious and demands immediate delivery with no possibility of delay or mistakes to remain competitive. PDF delivery is a necessity.

Thank you to anyone who can help.