Pros/cons of a Pre-Listing inspection

Hello everyone.
I am a fairly new inspector and curious about the benefits of a pre-listing inspection. The benefits I see are:
The seller can see the condition of their home and has an opportunity to fix any major defects. Eliminating the unwanted haggling about the price.
It can attract more potential buyers knowing that there is a report already completed and they can use that report when going for the mortgage. Saving them from having to pay for possibly multiple inspections till they find their home.
I would like to think that a pre-listing inspection would also help the property sell faster.
Am I correct in my thinking and did I miss anything in my thought process?

They are already selling in three days. How much faster do you want?

4 Likes

You will never ‘eliminate’ haggling. In fact, it is a much cherished aspect of doing business with some cultures.

3 Likes

The seller may also be made aware of deficiencies which they must then disclose. Just food for thought.

5 Likes

they are not selling that fast here in Canada.

Did you tell us that you are located in Canada? I-think-not!

Do mortgage companies require an inspection report these days?

Yes, it will help the seller improve the condition of their home prior to marketing. And help eliminate any big surprises.

I have also performed pre listing inspections for estate sales. Often the family needs to have a better understanding of a home prior to marketing for sale.

I always recommend that my clients never disclose the information in the inspection report to their lender. Underwriters are always looking for a reason to deny.

The issue I have with pre-listing inspections is you’re opening yourself up to additional liability when the buyer’s inspector finds something you missed. And yes you will miss something, we all do.