Questions and clarification for paragraph 6 of the InterNACHI New York State Home Inspection Agreement

This is my first time posting to the forum. Please let me know if there is anything that should be done differently.

Thank you, Carl

In paragraph 6 of the InterNACHI New York State Home Inspection Agreement, it states: “New York state law provides that we may not include any limitation on the amount of damages in this agreement for any alleged negligence or errors or omissions.” Then it goes on to state: “As to other claims, we assume no liability for the cost of repair or replacement of unreported defects, either current or arising in the future. In those other cases, our liability is limited to liquidated damages in an amount not greater than 1.5 times the fee you paid us”.

I have a difficult time with all the legal jargon, but this seems contradictory to me. Can someone clarify this for me?

Paragraph 6 also states: “If you wish to eliminate this liquidated damages provision, we are willing to perform the inspection for an increased fee of $______, payable in advance.”

What exactly does eliminate liquidated damages mean?

Do you use the liquidated damages provision in your agreement?

What percentage of your clients choose this option?

How much do you increase your fee?

Do you do anything different during your inspection, such as bring in someone that has more experience in a particular area such as a structural engineer and others?

Paragraph 6 of the InterNACHI New York State Home Inspection Agreement