Radon Charcoal Canisters

I am a new inspector starting out, located in MN. We are in a zone 1 radon area and I have to imagine most real estate transactions are demanding a radon test. My question is, are the charcoal canisters a thing of the past? Do pretty much all clients/agents want a CRM test nowadays? I have read every post on this board related to radon and it seems most posters here are doing CRM. I sure wouldn’t mind starting with canisters if they are still acceptable. Opinions?

Done properly, they are still acceptable.

Charcoal canisters give good results. Used to use them, now I use the Rad Elec system. Both of those systems give a result for the total exposure time (then averaged for 2 co-placed units). The CRMs sample at most once every ten minutes and give an average of the samples (6x48 or less). While it may look like the CRMs have more samples, the electret and charcoal devices change (measure) continuously over the test period (48 hours).

Charcoal you have to send out for the results. Electrets or CRMs can furnish results as soon as the test completes. Any equipment you own has to be calibrated annually and you need a QA program to assure your getting accurate results.

1 Like

Robert, I have looked at the Rad Elec system a little bit. It just seems a little expensive to get started in. Do you use Rad Elec’s SPER-1E reader? It alone is $2200 and they also recommend it gets sent in for calibration annually. Also, what is the purpose for the nitrogen cleaning kit included in their starter package? Thanks for the info.

Yes it is a little expensive. The reader allows me to give results the same day the test is completed. They are also located about 30 minutes from me and have great customer service. The nitrogen kit is for dusting the electrets and holders before testing and for QA. Nitrogen is a dry inert gas and is used extensively for cleaning lab grade equipment. The gas is cheap, the bottle (you have to buy) was about $100.00.