Stair riser issue and noting it on report question

I know we aren’t code inspectors, but… I recently inspected a split level home for an elderly couple in their late 80’s. Being a general contractor my eyes tend to focus on things built incorrectly. Visually I could tell the stair risers were not only above allowable tolerances but also all different heights. The smallest measurement was 7-3/4" the largest 9-1/2". I noted it on my report as a tripping hazard, which I feel it absolutely is. The listing agent called with her “disapproval” of my note. Citing her sellers should not be required to fix or disclose this issue because I am in fact not a code inspector and should not have acted as one. When I explained I worked for my client, the buyer, and felt this would be a problem for them she called me a deal killer and said she would never recommend me again. Was I wrong in noting the issue? Or is my obligation only to the service of my client and their safety?

1 Like

you were not wrong

2 Likes

Your obligation is to your client. If knowledge of the multiple safety deficiencies of the stairs made them not want to purchase that house, then that is their prerogative and your obligation to make them aware of it. Based on your posting, the stairs at least had issues with max riser height and riser consistency. Of course nobody rebuilds stairs in an existing home, so it usually becomes a take-it or leave-it proposition. Probably a good call for a couple in their late 80s to move-on.

Of course, there are many ways to state the deficiencies it in a report to convey the same information, some more palatable than others. If you care to share how you reported it, we can comment on the verbiage used and possibly offer suggestions.

The listing agent was out of line to contact you to bitch and threaten.

3 Likes