Start inspection on the interior or exterior?

I was taught to start my inspections in the attic. On the New York State HI exam starting on the exterior was the correct answer to this question. Does it matter? My instuctor had told me that if you start on the outside you will track mud or dirt in the house and you my also lose your client’s attention ouside. What do you guys think?

I’m just a newbie but I have a case of those ugly “booties” similar to those worn by a doctor or a lab tech. working in a clean room.
I start outside unless it’s raining (FWIW) then put the booties over my boots when I head inside

Start

Start On The Outside And Roof Then Booties If Needed

I think every one starts on the outside .
Example when you drive up and look at the home you have started.
First impresions are very important and I like to get this info down as I see it .
I always carry soft shoes to do the inside .

Cookie

Thanks for the advice. I’m gonna break the habit and start on the outside first.

Roof, exterior, take off shoes and do the interior, most people like that I work in my stocking feet.:smiley:

I used to also go in stocking feet till I got a needle in my toe . Now indoor shoes .
Cookie

Ditto

I start outside in work boots, then change to casual shoes for inside work.

Okay, how’s about this one…I start inspecting it in my mind as soon as I get the call…

Mic

Nice touch Bruce. I believe however that most state labor laws and OSHA would not find it acceptable that you’re working without proper footware.

I always start in the kitchen. I do the roof only after looking throughout the entire structure, including attic and garage for visible signs of water intrusion relating to specific areas of the roof.

I’m a newbie too but I start outside taking in the lay of the land, what obvious signs are going on with neighboring homes, etc. Suspicious items you find outside may or may not confirmed once you are inside the house. And of course, clean your feet, booties, etc.