Inspection Routine and Agreement

Hello I am new to NACHI and to the inspection industry. Wheres the best place to start in the house? Is it best to start on the interior or exterior? And one more question do you present the inspection agreement before or after the inspection? I would really appreciate everyones opinion or ideas, it would help me out a lot.

Thanks
Steven

I personally start outside after introducing myself, setting up my laptop in the kitchen and cranking the AC to COLD.
Roof
exterior
grade
landscaping (is it touching the house)
electrical panel
water pressure and hose bibs

then inside

kitchen (enter my findings in laptop)
laundry (peak behind washer and try to see the water piping material)
garage (water heater)
bedrooms
bathrooms
attic ( if gas furnace turn it on before entering attic.)

Finish report, review with client, print report, walk around with client discussing the findings, and go home.:smiley:

If there is a pool I turn on the pump the first thing and check on it from time to time as I am doing the rest of the inspection, then take one really good look before the attic.

If the weather is good, I try and start on the outside. Then start inside. Actually, there’s no real right or wrong way to go about it.

The important things to keep in mind are to get the contract signed as soon as possible and to start the dishwasher on a short wash cycle. That way, the dishwasher has at least enough time to do it thing before you leave the property. Otherwise, you’ll sit around waiting for the dishwasher to finish.

The last items to get inspected are the attic, crawlspace and roof. Never climb on top of a roof unless you are absolutely sure the roof structure can carry your weight.

I start in the kitchen first, for a couple of reasons: