The inspection business

I’m a student status InterNACHI member. I’m just learnin the ropes. I just got ‘ahold’ of a report by one of the busier inspectors in our little area. His wife says he does 3 reports a day 6 days a week. Some are commercial, pest, & radon, but that seems like alot to get done weekly.
He charged $230.00 for a “Home Gauge” report using 3-columns, a few pictures of problems only,----a little hard to read through, and only19 printed pages. :o:shock:
He charged $50.00 for pest–a one page,-- blanks-to-check inspection report.

What do you think about the pricing? He’s a NAHI guy probably the go-to-guy in our area for at least one up and coming real estate group here in Erie PA.
I’ve done residential remodeling in this area for 20 years, (Lima OH for 18 years before that) and I didn’t worry much about being the lowest bid, if people wanted me to do work for them it was because of word-of-mouth-personal recommendations. In this new endeavor I think I’ve got to take into consideration a going rate that this inspector seems to be able to consistantly generate. Any thoughts???

WE all have them some more then Others .
I tend to ignore them and do a proper inspection .
If some one asks about XXX charging so little I just say I guess he is charging what he feels he is worth .

Most people no matter the length of the report, it matters not. It is the content of the report that is ALL that matters. Do not look at price, do not look at length. My best opinion would be to do market research at the cost of about $300. If this is the “go to” guy, have him do an inspection on your house and then you do one and then compare.

$1,000 for 150 pages of BS and innacurate finding is not worth $2.

But a $100 report written properly and accurately can be worth thousands…

What you are being told is BS.
Erie County PA had approximately 2000 homes sold last year.
(factoring that 70% are inspected that leaves a potential market of just over 1400 homes).