Watch your back?

Being a home inspector is like being electrician. You open up a panel and you can get hurt If you don’t know what you’re doing.
As a new home inspector its kind of stressful knowing that I may miss something because being new at it. Very very few customers will take you to court because they think you ripped them off. Now I am think of getting a small E&O to protect my new LLC company that doesn’t amount to much now? To keep my risk down.
I’m going to specialize in 3 services, Electrical, IR and drone + the basic inspection. That way I will be a smaller target to hit.
This is stuff that I am comfortable with, the IR fascinates me, I am a licensed Electrician, 2 years of heating\cooling school.
As some of you guys already know, I’m starting “DAHL House Inspection” on January 2, 2020 to give me some lead time, I’m still employed and in the process of breaking away from my 7 day a week 4 years to get this business a float. I must keep busy and feel useful.
Other then a small E&O is there something else you guys can think of.

Actually, that is exactly how customers feel when you ‘miss something’ - they think you ripped them off.
E&O is a good idea in my opinion.

1 Like

Other than E&O I would recommend GL insurance. If you’re careful you will never need it but anything can happen. GL is typically way cheaper in premium than E&O.

As for risk E&O won’t help lower your liability or chance of being a target. Just like anything else concentrate on becoming the best possible and providing the most comprehensive and thorough inspection and report possible. Stay consistent in ALL you do from first call to last call (after report delivery). Those two will help lower your chance of being a target because you will be one of if not the best.

1 Like

E&O plus GL are absolutely must have.

I don’t know if its just me but, It looks like getting sued is pretty common? Is it possible to do 50 or so inspections a year for a extended amount of time and not get sued?