Water leak shown with thermal imaging

Hi i am new to thermal imaging could some one please correct me if i am wrong in the picture i am assuming that the water leak is starting from the box that i placed on the image?

thermal image water leak

I see Jesus.

9 Likes

I thought it was a giraffe uterus.
Seriously though that picture is worthless. You need a better camera or show us more pictures, maybe a standard picture to illustrate what we are looking at.

2 Likes

Looks like a lava lamp to me. Very poor description and a very poor quality image to match. Keyword here is new to thermal imaging.

1 Like

Hi Matthew. Welcome to the forum.

Thanks for posting your thermal image and your question.
The thermal imager can be a great tool. Congratulations on getting yours.
Keep in mind that the thermal imager will only indicate temperature differential, it does not actually measure moisture. Technically it doesn’t even measure temperature but I won’t get into that right now.
If you are looking at a wall with your thermal imaging camera and notice an area with an unexpected spike or drop in temperature relative to its surroundings you will want to investigate further and hopefully be able to find out if it is because of elevated moisture or an insulation defect or a draft or… lots of things. A moisture meter would probably be your next tool needed to find out if your suspicion is correct, that a water leak is causing the elevated temperature in the box on your screen.
You may also need to look closer at the feature. If this is a wall you are looking at, maybe try to see what is going on behind that wall if there is access.
from your image, we don’t know if you are looking at a wall, ceiling, floor, or your dog’s anus.
Do you have more information about what you are looking at?
Does your FLIR have MSX? (mix a thermal picture with a photo to help you see the location of objects)

9 Likes

We didn’t see the area your scanner was pointed at, so we can’t visualize the details.