Wet Sill Plate ?

I can not figure out why the sill plates are wet and the foundation is mostly dry. Condensation is running down the wall from the sill plate. This is in a crawl space in New Jersey very close to a marshland so the water table is high. The beam on foundation wall in the center of the house was real wet, the joists are all dry. The outer plates can not be seen, they have been covered with pressure treated but you can still see the it running down the block. Owner was a florida home inspector at one time. The house is around 90 years old. I have not been an inspector all that long and would appreciate a little help. Floors were well insulated. Temps were around 27 at night to 38 during the days lately. this is my first time on here and do not know how to put pics up yet.

Thank you
Art

Wood is more porous than concrete, so the water naturally would wick up from the concrete into the wood before condensing on the concrete below.

When entering a post look at the lower right side and click advanced.You should then see the paper clip symbol.Just hit browse and find the files in your computer then click up load after that.
Once you exit out of that and close the pop up box you should be able to go back to the paper clip and this time when clicking it will show names of the files you download.Those will attach to your message.
Remember the bigger the image the longer to download.
You do not usually need to reduce them here anymore.

[attach][attach]40631

[/attach][/attach]

one.jpg

http://http://artsworkshop1@comcast.net/pictures/2010-12-12/102

Link does not work!

If you have some conditioned air escaping at the base of the sill, condensation will form and run down the blocks. Or if you have cool air entering and the wood is warmer condensation will occur.

Could be lack of sill seal at the base of the exterior walls allowing air inward or outward. The wood will form condensation before the CMU’s.