What is the minimum temperature that you inspect AC unit?

Hi, my name is (Jamie) Hyoenghoon and this is the first time to write the topic on a forum. I’m still studying the courses and having a question in regards to the minimum temperature to inspect the AC unit.

I learned that the outside temp of 65F (18.3degree C) is the comfortable level to run the AC due to the possible damage to the compressor in the condenser unit. (If this is incorrect, please revise me).

Here in Calgary, Canada, the typical temperature is pretty low except for the summer.
If I inspect the house from the early morning which is almost always below 18.3C and if the temperature rises to that level at around 1~3 pm, should I wait, turn on and inspect the AC unit? I don’t want to break the AC unit as well as I don’t want to be regarded as a negligent inspector.

I just want to have consistency before I start inspecting any AC units.
Thank you for reviewing my question.

I will run them at around 60F. Whatever you do, spell it out in your agreement and be consistent about it.

1 Like

Thank you for your quick reply. Just one more further question for you. Would you run the AC if the outside temp is around 40F in the morning and 60F at around 1-2 pm? I’m kinda confusing at this point with the significant temperature variation during the inspection day. Or, it would be really appreciated if you could let me know how you reflect this on your agreement.

My comment
“If the outside temperature has not been at least 60 degrees for the previous 24 hours, an air conditioning system in the cooling mode cannot be checked without the possibility of damage to the compressor. In this situation, it is suggested that the present owner of the property warrant the operational status of the unit on a one time start up and cool down basis when warmer weather permits.”

Yes, I would test it in this circumstance.