What "items" or "reasons" to "Flag"

Hey guys,
I’m still pretty new at this and have a question:

What are the “things” or “conditions”, etc. That you guys “flag” on the inspection report?

Would you guys “flag” rust on top of a gas water heater below the “draft”?

Would you “flag” cracks & missing concrete on a retaining wall?

Would you “flag” chipping, peeling paint on the exterior side of the windows?

Or, would you just “comment” (not flag) on the above items & recommend a qualified contractor inspect & advise?

Thanks so much in advance!!

Define “flag” and you may receive more coherent responses.

Hi Charles, it sounds like toure talking about about the level of severity for defects. If so, that’s difficult to answer because it depends on the defect.

Maybe I’m misunderstanding what “flagging” an inspection item is or perhaps “flagging” is an “location” or “software” term.

I live in Ohio and Inspectors/Realtors view items that are "flagged " as more serious and or urgent than items not “flagged”. And many inspectors will use “red font” for “flagged” items to differentiate them.

In addition, the software I use= “HomeGauge” have “flagged” as an option. And when you “check” flagged in the program, these “flagged” items automatically are given more attention in the report.

So, being asked to define “flag”, have me confused. ???

Hey Charles,

That’s exactly what I’m referring to. “Level of severity” .

Thanks for response Charles!

I cant speak to HG because I haven’t used it. I know some report software has a flag option that is used as a “reminder” system. Say I dont know how to describe a defect so I flag it until I can get home to research it.

As for severity levels, different software sets different names for the severity levels so it is not standardized. I think in terms of
Minor: some service issue or some low cost low impact defect
Major: something important, expensive or something that will cause significant trouble or damage etc