Who is liable if defects are found after a home inspection?

This was an article posted in today’s Toronto Star. I am still studying to become a CPI (just started last week)…but am wondering if anyone has come across this problem before with buyers and also if the Internachi agreement would have all the bases covered in case a situation like the one in the article did arise. I personally would argue that it is a visual inspection and at the time, there was no visible indication of water damage or leaks. Thank you. Any thoughts?

In reality if HI’s were liable for all the things they want them to be liable for nobody would be crazy enough to take on the risk of doing this job in the first place, either that or it would be such an expensive service to offset the potential liability that the majority of prospective buyers/home owners would be unable to afford it…

I agree, it would not be worth it if every HI had to go to court. Having said that, in the article, the Judge threw out the exclusion clause - “the wording of the home inspector’s exclusion clause was found to be ungrammatical and ambiguous, and was not clearly brought to Smith’s attention when he signed the agreement.”

Would the standard Internachi contract to perform a home inspection be precise enough in this instance? Is this the one every member uses?

I guess back in the day the legal wording was not adequate and today it would be more so.

Thanks for your reply

Well we never found out what happened or if the home inspector made a mistake. Poorly written article. It is totally fitting that the author is a lawyer as the article has no conclusion. If your not in Canada it’s of no concern.

Thanks Bob,