Wiring a boat lift

I’ll preface this by saying I am NOT an electrician, but I’ve been around home building and repair , I’m not an idiot, but I’m no expert either. I’m installing a boat lift in my back yard, salt water location. I have questions concerning the type of wire to use. The flexible 5 conductor leads to the motor are rated for UV and moisture exposure, obviously due to their location. The near motor can be run directly from the switch to the motor from the enclosure the switches are mounted in. I need to run wire underwater to the far piling and lift motor, and the question arises - can I use 5 indvidual THHN leads in pvc, then through flexible wet rated conduit, or must I make a continuous run from the switches to the motors using the same wet rated wire as on the near lift motor? Why and why not? Do I have options? I have searched and attempted to decipher codes, but I’m not getting a clear understanding. Thanks…

You can cut that cable and put a wet location box at both ends for your THWN conductors that go under the water. That is how they all get wired here. You could also order enough SJOW cable to do it if you don’t mind opening up the drum switch and motor box. It still should be in PVC conduit for protection. Just be sure the underwater part won’t get hit by the boat. I really prefer going overhead if at all possible. The manufacturer might also sell you a factory made cable to do it if you are worried about the listing. Technically changing anything might affect that.

You used the designation of THWN rather than THHN. What’s the difference between the two, technically speaking? Can I use THHN, or must I use TWHN, and why? Thanks.

THHN is not rated for a wet location ( such as in conduit ) add the W and it is fine. Important to know that THHN is usually listed as THHN/THWN in most call cases now.