About tapping the panel cover with the knuckles to ensure that panel is not hot

Hello,
I am studying for the FHIE using InterNACHI’s materials and I have come across this question whose correct answer I consider questionable because, in my opinion, physically touching to judge the presence of electrical current is an unsafe practice, and, for that same reason, InterNACHI recommends the use of non-contact voltage detectors. Anyone can clarify why the state exam admits this practice as OK?

T/F: The electrical panel cover should first be tapped with the knuckles to ensure that the panel is not “hot” or energized before opening.
Correct Answer: YES

Source: https://www.nachi.org/my/education/practice-questions?page=6

Not the safest way but the back of the hand, instead of knuckles. Reason: Voltage will cause muscles to contract, allegedly pulling your hand away from the source.

Hope this helps
Cheers

3 Likes

what He said …

1 Like

They are suggesting you have an alternative means. Instead of grabbing the panel.

Side note - There are many courses of action that may seem archaic but when working around electricity it means your life and others around you.

Keep on keeping on studying.

1 Like

And should be the back side of the RIGHT hand.

I use a “hot” stick or pencil and run it around all areas of the breakers and dead front to pick up indications on the dead front prior to opening. Don’t really care for the 'tongue to the 9v Battery test."…

1 Like

I really appreciate your answers and I am very grateful for that, however, my concern was about the pure theory that is assessed in the exam. I know that we all have our ancient practices that work most of the time, but, the real world sometimes differs from the books, and the state exams always go by the books.