AHU/Heat pump refrigerant mix

Hello everyone, my name is Chris Phillips. I just got my CPI certificate, I’m new to the profession, and currently working on getting my home inspection business up.

I have found this forum to be really resourceful and typically find whatever questions I have by searching for it within this forum, but recently came across a situation at my wife’s parents which was for a mock inspection.

They have a split system HVAC with a Rheem air handler unit in the basement and a Carrier heat pump outside. My issue is that the heat pump data tag says to charge with R-22 and the AHU says to charge with R-410a. I’m sure that the HVAC techs wouldn’t have installed a system that is completely incompatible with one another, so how would write this up or explain this to the client?

If the system operates - blows hot / cold air at the appropriate temperature settings - that’s as far as you go. Check for air delivery in all the habitable spaces (report rooms without registers). Report on the filter size and access and your done. Don’t diagnose!

Christopher,
It looks like the air handler is newer (2016).
Normally, you wouldn’t pair equipment that require different refrigerants.
However, R22 is still available and most likely what is in this system.

See if your in-laws have the service ticket/invoice.

On Bob’s response …spot on.
Run this one down if you want to satisfy your curiosity and education.
However, if an inspected system is operating properly per SOP standards, note it and on to the next item.

1 Like

The system is still R-22. A new coil was installed.
R-22 operates at much lower pressures than R-410a so it’s ok, but not if it were the other way around.

2 Likes

Awesome, thanks guys. I’ll stick with the SOP, test the functionality, and move on. I’ll ask if they still have an invoice.