Are these proper connections?

I’m used to seeing large, chunky dialectric connectors that look like a large nut (with flat sides for wrench tightening).

But I have heard there are other types of dialectric connectors for connecting steel to copper.

Are these connections fitted with proper connectors that will resist galvanic reaction?

IMG_2610.JPG

IMG_2596.JPG

Hi to all,

Jeff, in a word no. PTFE (Teflon) tape does not meet the requirements of a dialect connection.

Regards

Gerry

Hi Gerry,

Thanks… I wasn’t really wondering about the teflon tape. We both know that won’t work.

I was questioning whether the steel connectors (90 degrees in first picture and cylindrical/straight in the second picture) between the steel and copper might have some sort of “seperator” inside them to keep the two metals from coming in contact…like a normal dialictric connector does.

What do you think?

Jeff

As a plumber I would have cut the elbows out and used PVC with no hub connectors. Why they used expensive copper is beyond me. Let along the extra time it would take to do it that way. It is not the best way to go but I’ve seen something like this hold up for years.

DWV copper is thicker and will last years. As a side note. When you see old copper drain runs they will rot out the bottom. They usually start as a channel in the bottom of the copper and eventually eat through.

Okay, but do you think they have separated the copper from the steel inside?