Basement/Crawlspace Wall Black Markings?

I apologize up front if this is a dumb question, I am still learning. This is the inside of an exterior wall from within a crawlspace area built in 1963 with active water intrusion issues and efflorescence everywhere. The crawlspace is blocked off from the rest of the basement/garage by the interior block wall on the right. The ground slope on the other side on the exterior wall roughly aligns with the slope of the black area. However, as you can see, the black markings also extends to the interior wall. I am thinking the black marking was a dampproof coating applied to the interior side of the wall that has long since failed? Perhaps the basement was enlarged and dirt excavated at a later point? Anyone have the answer to this puzzle?

I would agree with that assessment.

I am not sure what you mean by the dirt being excavated. Is the dirt on the exterior higher than the dirt on the interior? If so, not unusual but should not happen in modern crawls.

1 Like

Yes, the ground level on the exterior roughly corresponds to height of the black coating. I am thinking the interior wall and dampproof coating were original to the house. Then, someone removed dirt from the crawlspace at some point later for some reason.

1 Like

Welcome to our forum, Brian!..enjoy participating. :smiley:

Possibly…or because of the dirt back fill against the exterior wall, the CMU block wicked moisture to the exposed interior. The surface coating could have been an impermeable coating intended to mitigate the migrating moisture. Think basement CMU block wall. Something to consider

1 Like

It appears to be a damp-proof coating applied to the interior, as you stated. Whether it was applied at the start, or later, it was never going to work. As a matter of fact, it is detrimental to the block wall because it will help trap moisture.