Being a REALTOR and a home inspector

I have been an inspector for 18 years. My wife just became a realtor last year. She is doing okay, has a few deals. To avoid any conflict of interest, I do not do inspections for her transactions.

I have thought about getting my real estate license, just so I can help her out with clients when needed. Plus, sometimes I just feel like marketing myself and knocking on some doors just to see if I can get some listings…

Have any of you Moonlighted as a Realtor?? Was it worth it??? Good or bad points… feel free to share!

I think you can do whatever as long as you keep the two separate. Many contractors and handymen/handywomen are inspectors but claim to not intertwine the two. I don’t think that’s any different than an agent/inspector combination.

4 Likes

There isn’t a conflict to inspect houses for her (she shouldn’t be referring just 1 inspector anyways).
There is a conflict if you are showing homes and home inspecting them also.
Just saying.

1 Like

Wrong…

9 Likes

My lawyer says its not an issue. You should read what you posted closer.
Better yet call “your” lawyer and ask him. I’ve already consulted one on this matter

1 Like

Don’t need to.
Show your Attorney a copy of the Internachi Code of Ethics.
He may be correct regarding state law, but not if you are an Internachi Member!!

Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha!!

1 Like

You are extrapolating info that isnt there in the careful wording…

Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha!!!

1 Like

Curious. Is your wife an RE agent?

That’s what he stated in his OP. :+1:

I’d be amazed if keeping his wifey happy wasn’t a conflict of interest.

Best part about being a realtor and an HI is that you can argue with yourself.

16 Likes

I have a real estate broker’s license here in Wisconsin. I was working as an agent first and then became a home inspector.