Bookkeeping in California

Whats the easiest method of bookkeeping for California? Im just starting out my business.

Hiring a CPA is always the easiest way, no matter the state. For those of us that DYI our taxes and finances, a few Excel spreadsheets does the trick.

And welcome to the forum!

1 Like

Thanks for the info, I appreciate that. I’ll check out a few CPA’s.
Thanks for welcoming me!

I agree with Ryan. The bookkeeping is pretty easy, but business taxes are complicated. Once you find a CPA you like, ask them what format(s) they prefer. Mine appreciates Quickbooks, because that is what she uses, but can handle just about anything. You will find Quickbooks to be real pricey these days (wasn’t always the case), so having a CPA that is flexible on format could be important.

Thank you, Brian. I genuinely appreciate the feedback I’m getting. It’s very helpful. I wanna make sure I do this right, so I bow to the experts…

How often do I need to have a cpa come and do the books?

I use a book keeper to reconcile my banking accounts, payroll, quarterly taxes and enter information into quickbooks. Then, at the end of the year send the books over to the CPA for taxes.

Now, you can have all of this done under one roof if you choose provided the CPA offers these services.

But, as others have said, it all starts with a conversation with a CPA who will provide you some guidance.

1 Like

You guys are awesome, thanks!!!

1 Like

I use a CPA after the end of the fiscal year for taxes. She just happens to also do my payroll, which makes my bookkeeping responsibilities much easier. I just track income and expenses, then she adds the payroll numbers to the tax calculations at the end of the year, then provides me with the year-end accounting numbers and adjustments (so that I can retroactively make my bookkeeping match what was reported on my taxes).