Can you bbe a home inspector with no construction or building experience.

I’ve had someone say that “every inspector has experience”, and he was referring to building or construction. “every” is a pretty broad term. That would mean that anybody without experience has ever done it. When pointed out to this individual, he kicked and screamed, and then took his ball home.
Have you heard of inspectors with no building experience?

Frank …

In 1985 there were only 2 HI schools we knew of in the whole USA.

30 years ago … NO.

25 years ago NO.

Then in the mid 1990’s came home correspondence classes; franchises; ITA; state licensing; magazines touting home inspection as a top home based business to get into with little $$$$$ and no experience AND bam we were off and running.

As a trainer, I constantly see people from other lines of work with no construction experience … A lot of computer lay-offs.

A prime example is around 1992 - 1993 a gal in KC with a background if memory serves me correctly as a high school band or music director or similar. For some reason she found herself out of work, and did not or could not find a job doing what she’d been doing. She got a job answering phones and marketing for a home inspector. Shortly after, he bailed out and left town. Since she was already marketing this, she apparently got a couple of locals to do the jobs and let her tag along.

Today she’s been one of ASHI’s national Board of Directors; she is a partner in a training school in Leavenworth, Kansas; and last month was appointed President of one the 2 Kansas home inspection associations (the one that pushed them into licensing a few years back). I’ve heard she’s very popular with women REA’s.

SO yes, in some states, people with no training, experience or background in construction OR any related areas can prosper and do very well.