Case or no case?

Hello assembled brain trust,

I am a recent first-time homebuyer who payed a small and reasonable fee for a home inspection as part of the standard real estate transaction process. The inspection found no serious concerns and the purchase went through. The home is approximately 40 years old but the kitchen, HVAC, etc., had all just been renovated by the sellers. I am no expert in any of this.

Approximately 45 days after the inspection, the kitchen sink began backing up so a plumber was called in. The diagnosis was incorrectly installed waste piping and p-trap assembly, all of which the plumber says was not up to code and should never have passed the home inspection. In fact, the assembly was of such poor design that it was taken back to the company to use as some sort of “what not to do” training. The repair bill for replacing the entire waste piping and p-trap assembly correctly, in accordance with local code this time, ran to about 3 times the cost of the entire home inspection itself.

My basic question for this community is: how upset with my home inspection company do I have a right to be?

1. Is the plumber correct – should this have been caught by the home inspector?
  2. In your experience, do I have a legitimate legal case in small claims court for:
    a. Refund of home inspection fee
    b. Repair costs

I look forward to your comments.

Thanks -

What state are you in?

Hello Breen,

Welcome to the wonderful world of home ownership maintenance.

First off all contractors say that the home inspector should of caught this, when in fact most contractors have no idea of what a home inspection is.

A home inspection is not a code inspection. So it really doesn’t matter if the installation meet code or not.