Challenger found

hi
yep i am a rookie, but i am going to enjoy this.
still i need to know
was hoping to get answer from the professionals
i found a challanger panel, while i was looking on internet i found they have been recalled,
so my question is this?
even though everything has been working for 34 years, and everything looked good in the panel,
how do i list it in my four point inspection
is this panel unsatisfactory? or satisfactory with a note?
me i believe that its unsatisfactory
here is why.
if i list it satisfactory and it gets by the insurance industry who might not look that it as a challenger, they might look at it just as satisfactory.
home owner wont fix it, because it cost money to do that, there attitude is :: its been working for 34 years?
would like someone help in seeing another side on how to handle this
thank you
robert

Welcome to our forum, Robert!..Enjoy! :smile:

Just report what you see, Robert.

2 Likes

I think the only Challenger recall was their GFCI breaker, not the panel.
The 4 point report asks what brand/model panel, you will state Challenger.
That’s it.
On my comprehensive inspection report:
**note: Some insurance companies may consider Challenger panels to be obsolete. Recommend checking with your insurance agent.

Smile & tell 'em
past performance is not a guarantee of future reliability

3 Likes

(I would stay away from recall comments) Challenger panels have reported overheating of the circuit breakers. There is debate whether or not these occurrence occur at a higher rate with these panels vs other manufacturers. Some insurance companies may not insure a home until the panel is replaced. Due to age and manufacturer, recommend a licensed electrician to inspect the panel in search for underlying conditions that could cause overheating/arcing/failure.

2 Likes

I did but if i right it in the unsatisfactory box it makes the report unsatisfactory.