CHAPI not Happy

Good Day

I am a new inspector and got sucked into SAPPY CHAPI (Alberta Chapter). I am learning that CHAPI is not what It claims to be. My first meeting with CHAPI the talk was mostly about the proposed legislation that they had made up and was going into place very soon. This was almost a year ago.

Today I attended a meeting put on by CHAPI where the sole purpose was to update us on the proposed legislation that CHAPI was working on. The guest today was Brock Ketcham with the government of Alberta. The first thing that Brock said was there is no proposed legislation right now and it is in the distant future. Many CHAPI members were mad at this.

The meeting got interesting when somebody started to talk about NACHI. “Why should we listen to them they are from the states?” Credit to Brock he explained that the people of CHAPI are not the only people in the home inspection industry. CHAPI is scared that their legislation is going to be thrown out because of NACHI. (We will try as hard as we can.)

I will keep you updated if there is something to report.

Lawrence Olsen

PS Great Sight

Meet me here: http://www.nachi.org/albertalm2007.htm

Association biased licensing leads to consumer injury and death and anyone promoting licensing that favors one association over another is a statistical mass murderer.

Government officials have a duty to the public to protect them and keep them from being harmed by all that happens when private trade associations, run by those that should be regulated, are given powers that permit consumer-harming corruption. Don’t allow the regulated to regulate. Every child knows better.

Thanks Lawrence much appreciated .
CAHPI stands for Canadian association of Home and Property Inspectors .
It has grown from CAHI Canadian home Inspectors.
CAHPI ( CAHI) is made up of various Provincial associations .
Part of the dues from each Provincial Senior Members ( RHIs) goes to support CAHPI.