Children and Pets attending the inspection

Hi everyone, I’m new here. I just obtained my NY license but I’ve been assisting on inspections for years and I’m also a licensed real estate agent.

Does anyone have a clause in their inspection agreement that prohibits children and pets from attending the inspection? Not only is it a liability issue, but the inspector is bound to miss something if distracted.

I’m about to start my own business and want to know if any of you have addressed this issue. Thanks, Erick

I have done inspections with kids and/or pets present. I have not found it to be a problem. But you can set whatever rules you are comfortable with.

7 Likes

You’re going to get all kinds of distractions, owners at home working, on conference calls, workers on site doing who-knows-what, etc. Worry about your process and keep your focus on whatever your doing. You can’t prevent all the “noise” that occurs in many of these inspections.

7 Likes

Can’t see telling the client who they can bring. They might not have any one to watch the kids. Haven’t had any problems, just something you work around

6 Likes

Kids and pets give you a good mechanism to bond/create a relationship with a potential new client (the seller).

If it’s the client who brings pets and kids, I would not allow the pets into the home but the kids can help create conversation and also give you a way to establish a good relationship with your client.

7 Likes

Pets are a definite no for me…last thing I need is fido lifting his leg on someone else’s sofa…only had one issue with too many friends and family showing up…client showed up with soo many people it looked like a wedding reception. I told my client I was going to sit in my truck for ten minutes and if the herd wasn’t thinned to two or three I was heading home… problem solved…

7 Likes

I had an agent bring her dog to an occupied house.

4 Likes