Concrete moisture testing?

I received a call yesterday from a guy who is eager for me to expand into concrete moisture testing. He apparently has work lined up for me next week. He said that all I have to do is pass an on-line course and buy a hammer drill. He was saying that this is a HUGE market. Interestingly enough, I’ve never heard of such a thing. I asked him why anyone would want the moisture in their concrete tested and he didn’t have an answer for me. As a Home Inspector, I can’t just go and drill holes all over the place. I was curious if anyone else has heard of this and what the purpose would be. Apparently the sales guy didn’t know.

This is the web site: http://www.floortest.com/

It sounds like a scam to me.

sounds like a structural engineering thing, not so much home inspection…I have never heard if it.

Curtis,

This service is moisture testing of concrete floors in commercial buildings, like Walmart, that intend to place tile, wood, etc. on the floor. If flooring is laid on concrete that is not completely cured the moisture in the concrete will cause the flooring to debond from the concrete.

There is a large liability associated with the company or “independent inspector” that certified the floor was cured properly and the moisture levels were low enough to lay flooring. Some of the companies that offer this talk about “independent” inspectors. That translates to you may be liable for future floor failures if the failure was linked to your testing.