Crawlspace or not a Crawlspace?

So I have not yet gotten started on my home inspection career, I am waiting for my husband to exit the Military and us move back to Florida so I can take the state test. I have taken all required courses and passed my InterNACHI exam. I am going back over the topics and I have a question about crawlspaces.

Back in our home town there are many homes that are pier and beam homes, there usually is no skirting around the home its all open, so my question is would that be considered a crawlspace? If not what would it be considered? And if it is how do I inspect it without calling the whole crawlspace being deficient and needing the sheeting and skirting? OR should I state that in the report.

Thank you for your time, and again I am just getting started.

2 Likes

Are you trying to describe something like this;

proxy

Yes sir I am.

I am what?

Yes, I am describing and asking about a home that is built like that and if the underside of the home is considered a crawlspace or something else, and if it is a crawlspace how do I report on it in an inspection report without saying the entire thing is deficient due to it not having skirting or sheeting.

All depends where it is geographically located. Might be OK the way it is. There are vented and non-vented crawlspaces.
You still have to inspect the underside of the structure for plumbing, electrical, heating if any, structure, and insulation, and vapor retarders if applicable.
And since you have to crawl to inspect, logically it would be called a crawlspace enclose or not.

Ok, Thank You. Logically yes calling it a crawlspace is accurate since you have to crawl to inspect. Guess I just got a little confused on it not having anything covering the ground or skirting. Thank you for your time and explanation.