Do you write a cost estimate for repair after inspection?

I usually tell clients in the inspection that an inspection is not to create a detail maintenance or repair list, they would have to look for the contractor for that matter.

Many people ask for cost estimates. I never give them unless it’s something really minor. (new GFCI, etc.)

Ditto what Eric says, but I will add that I don’t give any estimates in writing, only verbal on minor things like downspout extensions…

I’ve never given an estiamte in writing, but as I have been a contractor for 10 years i can/do give ball park ideas. (ie: a new roof can cost around $7000-8500, or new service panel will run around $2000)…

Nope, I talk about it with them but nothing in writing.

I give a written cost estimate with the repair list on every report I have written from the git go in my 16th year of doing so, never had a problem

I have to. Every single inspector in Richmond Va does it. Even the $195 inspection guy does it. I would be out of business if I didn’t. If you don’t have to dont do it.

Hell no.

How is an inspector supposed to know what it will cost?

Each contractor has different costs and overhead.

Any time I have ever seen it done it is pure bullcrap.

I have been asked and I tell them it is crap in advance and is in no way guaranteed to be even close. Just a useless guess.

Those who do it are full of it as far as I am concerned. Unless you do it for a living you are just guessing.

1 Like

Same here…year 18! :smiley:

1 Like

Never. I’m not Mike Holmes either. I am not in the business of backing up any repair estimates either.

Neither is Mike Holmes.

It’s a TV program :wink:

1 Like

As a licensed Electrical contractor for over 25+ years I may give an off the cuff rough “Guesstimate” but NEVER in writing and always with the acknowledgement that it is only a guesstimate at best. But I mainly tell them no.

Jim