Fees for Condos, Townhome, Apt

Hi there!

I am new in the inspection business and wanted to know how you structure your pricing for condos, townhomes and such. I want to be prepared when the opportunity come up.

Thanks

Melissa

Melissa,

You have to price your inspection for what the market will bear, and sometimes higher. Every area is different. As you grow in your business you will be able to raise your prices to where you would reallly like them to be.
Check out your competition and see where they are at.

Also, check out http://www.CostOfBusiness.com - it is well worth the money. Search the board - I think I saw where they were giving NACHI members a discount.

Hi Melissa,

Just remember you need to set an absolute bare minimum that you are willing to do an inspection for regardless how small the condo may be. It’s still a crucial aspect of the real estate transaction and you deserve your fee.

I still go by a sliding scale for condos. Several of the condos I’ve inspected were as large as a house.

Normally, a 1 or 2 bedroom condo here in Northern California with minimal exterior is $250 to $300. As they get bigger, I bump up the price another $50 to $100.

BTW, I still inspect the attic and crawlspace if the condo has one. I don’t charge extra, I just do it. The RE agents will appreciate it.

So if you find lots of problems in the attic or crawlspace that subsequently kill the deal, the RE agents will appreciate it? Hmmmmmmm.

Sorry. It’s a new day. I just couldn’t resist. :stuck_out_tongue: Darn margaritas. :margarit:

The smallest I’ve ever done was a 361-SF condo and a 381-SF house. STANDARD inspections for condos under 500 SF are $179 and $229 for SFRs under 500 SF. For each 500 SF up to 3,000 SF, I add another $50. After 3,000 SF, all bets are off due to multiple systems (two water heaters, four furnaces, etc.).