Pricing using Nachi calculator form

Just a general question for those that use the InterNACHI pricing calculator. When putting in the Square Footage of the house, do you use the footage listed for the living area only or do you add additional footage if the basement is finished into a living area, kitchen, etc.? Just curious to what others do.

I don’t use it but if I did, I would consider all spaces finished or unfinished.

1 Like

Ditto.
If I inspect it, I charge for it.
All my quotes are for TOTAL SQUARE FOOTAGE, not habitable space!
Time is money!
To those that balk at this policy… do you charge for crawlspaces?
No difference!!

how do you guys price a inspection out. I am new to this in Oklahoma and one of my real estate friends asked about my pricing. She had told me about 300 average and 350 with termite is normal for our area. Do you guys charge less for 1k less sqft house or a flat rate and add more for large houses? Sorry im new help a guy out!

The price is what the market will bear no matter what size the home. I would use Google and my phone to research other companies. Ignore the bottom feeders and come up with a reasonable rate that matches your business budget. If you can’t make money…don’t do it. Keep your day job.

1 Like

EVERY home has the basics… Kitchen, Bathroom, Living space, Utilities, Mechanicals, etc., therefore a 1K SF home IS NOT easier or faster to inspect than a 1.5K or 2K SF home. In fact, often they are more difficult as things such as the water heater is crammed into a small closet, or even behind an enclosure door requiring removal for access to inspect.

IMO… No inspector should have a BASE FEE for smaller than a 1,800 SF home, ie.
My fee is: STARTING AT $400 for up to 2,000 SF homes.

6 Likes