First Ancillary service

Hey guys

Some of you may have already seen me and know that I am a new inspector. Business is going decently and I’m ready to add my first ancillary service. I don’t have a lot of funds and they will have to be added slowly. What is the best first ancillary service to add that will be the cheapest but also bring the biggest ROI.

Any other tips for New inspectors would be greatly appreciated

ALSO please visit my website at ahouseonarock.com and click the “like” my facebook page button on the bottom.

Radon Testing

Termite inspections

I concentrate on my main business .

Do mold or radon. Offer services that your competition doesn’t. Get off your a s s and do more than just sit in front of your computer daydreaming about perfect inspection reports.
I’ve been doing mold inspections for a Kansas environmental company for 3 years now.They do mold remediation for the major financial institutions before the foreclosures goes on the market. I take 3 air samples and 1 lift tape sample, about 20 photos and a short 2 paragraph description of the property. The samples are sent to their lab for analysis. So I pay for the sampling supplies and FedEx Standard shipping (everything cost me about $30). They pay $300 per inspection. I did 62 inspections for them last year. So far that has paid for my expansion to include a separate thermal inspection business and I have recently invested in energy auditing certifications and equipment. Or you can only concentrate on your home inspection business and hope you get rich someday.

…or you can become a Don Rickles wanna be by practicing how to insult degrade and belittle people so they admire you and your advice.

It is a good way to network and gain referrals as you resolve inferiority complex.:slight_smile:

I wasn’t trying to belittle anyone, just sharing some ideas with Juan. This thread is about ancillary services not about surviving with mediocre business.