Flipping Houses

I am an inspector in Florida. I’m looking to research and possibly get into flipping houses in this area. I’m not asking for anyone to spill the secrets but just wondering if any of you guys have done this and would be wiling to give any good advice or places to start with regards to getting into this. Thanks guys!

I flip houses in Iowa

have your financing ready before you start, you need to know what you can afford, and how soon you can have the money together.

Definitely shop around for contractors and have a complete scope of work laid out for them that they are to follow.

The major con themselves are the flipping houses TV shows. It is not what it seems. These are actors, into making money from the TV shows, not the homes.

The only way to make any money flipping homes is to have your own crew. Using sub-contractors will cause money to fly out of your pocket, delays, and many headaches.

Use Cash and do not borrow money to do it.

Sound advice.

Ed I’m currently doing one now and it will be my last the way I have been doing them. Lessons I’ve learned:

1. We’re doing sometimes 20 inspections a week. Flipping a house cannot be a part time job. It’s almost full time
  2. Don’t do the work yourself. Mistake I’m making now as I am in month 4 of what was supposed to be a 30 day job. Next one I do will have a project manager who will run subs.
  3. Watch your comps judiciously. If it’s not in the same neighborhood, throw it out. You know as well as I, in the Tampa bay area, a few blocks away you could be in the hood or a rich area.
  4. Banks are overpricing. You either need to go after stuff thats sat a tremendously long time, outbid the banks on the courthouse steps, or know a wholesaler.