florida contractor and inspector

(Dennis J. Bonner) #1

how many florida internachi members are also licensed contractors?

0 Likes

(David Asselin) #2

I'm in BC and I'm a contractor. I don't remember on which site I saw that before but it was a large real estate firm that were saying on their home inspector page to not hire an inspector that is also a contractor. I guess the idea is they don't want the contractor to use the inspections to get more work.

I would think that marketing wise, it sounds better to be a good inspector that is also an active builder compare to someone that isn't. I do understand that construction doesn't make a good inspector but for marketing, I think it makes sense to use it.

0 Likes

(Dennis J. Bonner) #3

is licensing required in b.c? with classes and c.e?

0 Likes

(Jeffrey R. Jonas) #4

[quote="dasselin, post:2, topic:112792"]

I'm in BC and I'm a contractor. I don't remember on which site I saw that before but it was a large real estate firm that were saying on their home inspector page to not hire an inspector that is also a contractor. I guess the idea is they don't want the contractor to use the inspections to get more work.

I would think that marketing wise, it sounds better to be a good inspector that is also an active builder compare to someone that isn't. I do understand that construction doesn't make a good inspector but for marketing, I think it makes sense to use it.
[/QUOTE]

Home Inspectors exist due to Contractors.

Think about it. How many defects (not material failures) do you find in a home, every home?

Now why would you think it was a good idea to advertise you are a contractor?

Yes, the general public DOES think like that.

Just sayin'.

0 Likes

(David Asselin) #5

[quote="dbonner, post:3, topic:112792"]

is licensing required in b.c? with classes and c.e?
[/QUOTE]