Heat Pump

I did a early morning inspection today at 7:30 AM. The townhouse had a heat pump installed. The outside temperature was 79 when I tested the system. The cooling side worked well. I got a 15 degree split. The heating side I got less than a 5 degree split. Based on other items I saw no service disconnect, unit unstable and out of level, fins dirty, no secondary drain pan drain plumbed I reccomended further evaluation and repairs. Any ideas on what could cause the problem. It was my understanding on a heat pump if one side worked it was almost a given the other side would as well. Ideas??

Did you trip the head pressure switch?

Were you testing heat in Aux Heat setting or Heat?

If you are running the Heat Pump heat long enough to take temp splits (which tell you NOTHING, by the way) at 80 degrees, your running it too long.

There may be outdoor t-stats that keep the electric heaters off till it gets real cold out. Not common though.

I would not run a heat pump in heat (emergency or Aux heat is OK) during the summer unless you know what you are doing.

Switch not tripped. Was running it in normal heat mode.

Enlighten me why temp splits tell me nothing?

What’s a split? Anything to do with cheerleaders?

Peter,
I know David will be along to further explain his comment. But the gist is that if you are taking dry bulb temps you can’t really get the true pre and post evap coil temps. He has mentioned that a chart is used in conjuction with humidity and temperature to figure it correctly.

Also the temps taken at return and supply registers will be skewed due to heat loss/gain occurring in the ducts, loose ducts, holes, location, etc. These all would have a negative impact. Depending on how you write your report, you may suggest the system is not operating correctly when in fact, it is one or more of the other factors that is the real culprit.