HVAC questions for you "learned"

Hello to all,

I am still a newbie with things to learn, and I had some HVAC questions for you in these pictures. This is from a newer house (built in 2004).

In picture 1)- I am thinking of writing up the hole in the “ducting tape” at the air return ducting? Too fussy or would you?

In pic 2)-I am not sure what the vent on the floor is?

In pic 3 and 4)- What about the loose wire (kinda of a brown wire) on top? Should this be called out? What is it too?

In pic 5) I thought there had to be a one inch clearance on double wall flue vents?

Thanks in advance to you who reply!

100.jpg

100.jpg

100_5462 (Small).JPG

100_5470 (Small).JPG

100_5461 (Small).JPG

Combustion air, looks like from crawl space.

I would put it in the report but it’s a minor issue and not a material defect.

As I also see the gas line and TPR drain line going throught th efloor can we assume that a crawl space is below? It may be the combustion air intake but need more info on the house construction. Also see flame rollout at the water heater and missing the inner door. No drip/dirt leg on gas supply.

It appears to be low voltage from the t-stat wiring with no exposed conductors. I would recommend it be secured.

Any combustables in this area within 1 inch?
[/quote]

#1 The duct tape is being used to seal leaks in the joints. Duct tape dries readily and can leak in the future. Recommend monitoring and repair when needed.

#2 Possible return air vent–not allowed in that proximity to the furnace. If its is combustion air from the crawlspace, some areas do not approve because crawlspaces are not nice places.

#3 Thermostat wire–low voltage. Still, it should be protected from damage.
It may not cause a fire but is can cause the equipment to not operate.

#5 Looks like 1" clearance at the door–other than that it sure is sloppy work. Too much duct tape (any duct tape can be “too much”).

Greg