inspection rates

Hello I’m a new inspector and i’m trying to figure a price point to be charging for inspections . I live in the Panhandle of Florida any suggestions would be greatly appreciated
Thanks Ghislain “Jess” Royer

Whatever you’re worth…

First you need to know what all of your true actual expenses are. Everything!

When you get that, get back to us.

Just remember on the list of EVERYTHING:

1. Cost of O&E Insurance (hint, it’s cheaper than what the client will sue you for)
  2. Cost of equiptment
  3. Cost of website
  4. Cost of phone plan
  5. Cost of software
  6. Cost of maintenance on vehicle (oil changes, tires, tire rotation, brakes, fuel)
  7. Cost of “widgets” you offer
  8. Cost of marketing
  9. Cost of staying home and not getting a job

I KNOW there’s more, but I’m busy with a report right now, just stopped by while my brain took a breather.

Which is why we see so many Inspectors here quoting so low!

Also your location and competitors price, I am located in Hattiesburg, Ms and we have the lowest prices in the state due to a few reason I won’t name right now. The best starting point is as mentioned above, your expense cost, then start seeing what others are charging.

…thus going out-of-business in 1-3 years!

…thus going out-of-business in 1-3 years! They need to learn their profession, (in it’s entirety), including operating a profitable business, if they have any hopes of not just ‘surviving’ but succeeding in this (or any) industry! IMO, very few Inspectors have a clue how to operate a business. Those Holiday Inn Express commercials we all love are more “on point” that most care to admit!

I agree with the other inspectors comments but would add, “charge as much as your area market will allow”.

The higher the price, the greater the perceived value…

They flourish here by doing 2 and 3 crap inspections a day!

There are a lot of things that go into setting price. Many have shared a piece here.