Insurance Premiums for the New Guy.

I am a new home inspector and I am looking for the best insurance premiums I can find. As we all are. I know that the mere fact that I am new in this business will probably cause me some hurdles, but because I’m new I need to find the lowest cost premiums I can find for my situation.

Right now I have seen the Pay-per-inspection plans that run around $600 for a 10 pack. I am in Iowa and in need of some help regarding this situation. I definately don’t want to overpay.

My years in Management, sales and customer service will lend themselves well to this business because of my personal accountability, attention to detail, confidence, coachability, humility (knowing that I don’t know it all) and my dedication. My character and integrity is my foundation. Regardless of experience and training, without a strong foundation you won’t last, in any business. I believe that it isn’t necessarily how long you have been in business, as much as it is HOW you conduct your business. However, those things alone will not get me lower premiums!

Are there any options out there for me?

I appreciate the help on this matter.

Sorry to ramble.

Scott
www.inspectintegrity.com

www.nachi.org/insurance.htm

http://www.nachi.org/forum/showpost.php?p=268151&postcount=110

When I just started, I paid around $3,400 for the 1st year. The coverage was good, but the premium was astronomical! Now it’s much cheaper for me. One piece of advise: you have to have a decent coverage, so 1 claim doesn’t put you in a poor house. Also, hire a good attorney to review your client inspection contract or write a new one.

… or use InterNACHI’s which is the result of hundreds of legal man hours (something you probably can’t afford) and many years of tweaking (something you probably don’t want to do).

It has never lost in court, is time tested, and not one line has ever been struck or ruled unconscionable in any court in N. America.