It was 40 years ago today . . .

. . . that I graduated from OCS at Ft. Sill, Oklahoma and was commissioned a 2nd Lieutenant in the Field Artillery branch.

I know, I know. I don’t look that old!

Stop it. You’re embarrassing me.

Hey old man (I mean SIR), it seems like a few years, but I was honorably discharged by the U.S Army as an Airborne Ranger 26 years ago.

Oh, the memories still linger…

http://www.lesalesusa.com/Col-Stinger---Iraq-014.jpg

…and two years later I was born!

I miss My Friend Flicka, Rin Tin Tin, Route 66, and Sky King.

Jae, You have far too little hair for 38 :wink: Seven years later I was born.

My son, Seán, is now older by a few days [24.56 years] than I was when I got separated from active duty.

My dad was fond of when-I-was-your-age comparisons and I’ve acquired a taste for them, myself, of late.

Funny thing. Seán’s as unimpressed by them as I was. “Yeah, I know, D. When you were 22, you were a Company Commander in Korea.” Eyes rolling à la will-this-guy-ever-get-over-himself.

Now, it’s 43 years. I wonder if there’s anyone still in the Army who was in when I got out.

We covered some of the same tracks I was the HVAC mechanic in Snow and Knox hall Ft Sill okla in the mid 70’s I maintained the chillers for that cluster of buildings and had to listen to those Army guys whine about being to cold or to hot hard for a old Navy guy to choke down:D;-)

The year I got married and building a Zayre Store for the first shopping Mall in my home town. Man time flies. :slight_smile:

Joe it was 13 years ago that I retired from the U.S. Navy. What always makes you feel old is when you reaalize that people that were BORN in 1995 can join the Navy this year.

37 years later I joined the Marine Corps. If that is a current picture than you are right, you don’t look that old.

No one who meets me can believe that I am 65. Ben Garrison was stunned when I told him in Atlantic City last week.