Job opportunities?

Hello everyone. I am a home inspector for a little over a year now in south Jersey. Started my own business. I have a lot of Realtor contacts, but houses are scarce in this market. Having a very hard time getting jobs. Between insurance, and Home Gauge, etc… Its costing me way more than I’m making. I’m lucky if I get a job a month. Has anyone ever tried getting work through an insurance company??? Is that a possibility for home inspectors? Any ideas? Much appreciated. Mariann

1 Like

Mariann, try contacting some CMIs or CPIs within 40 to 50 miles, or farther, to your area and communicate with them. Maybe one, or more, will help you. Some inspectors feel as though they are training their competition by ride-alongs or mentoring or hiring.

Here is the link for CMIs: Find a Certified Master Inspector®

And the link for CPIs: Find Certified Home Inspectors Near You - InterNACHI®

And Mentors: Home Inspector Mentoring - InterNACHI® and InterNACHI® - International Association of Certified Home Inspectors

Also, you may want to take advantage of your Education Team at education@internachi.org for specific questions e.g. 15 Steps to Become a Successful Home Inspector - InterNACHI® and InterNACHI® Master Class for Home Inspectors . And there is the new training cards app Chris Morrell, our CEO, offers: New training app for home inspectors

And there is the Helpful How-To Videos - InterNACHI® for many other things. And the InterNACHI online education page: How do I navigate the InterNACHI online education page? | InterNACHI FAQ

2 Likes

Thanks Larry,
I actually did become a CMI as well. Since I wasn’t working I had time to study LOL! I have been mentoring with an awesome inspector but its for free so I need to make some money. I keep trying but I will try your suggestions. Thanks!
Mariann

https://www.indeed.com/q-Insurance-Inspector-jobs.html?vjk=1295e64e2d2bbfe3

Job Status : Independent Contractor