Latent Moisture - Part Two

Here is a pretty good find. The images below indicate latent moisture in the ceiling of a bedroom, and it was absolutely not noticeable without using my IR camera.

This was a pre-offer inspection, and the LA had the home inspected before putting it on the market. I had a chance to review the inspectors report, and besides being hand written without photos, it was very detailed and thorough.

The previous inspector identified everything that I wrote up except this latent moisture issue. Obviously, he could not see it!

This brings me to my intent of the post. I have been offering General ITI Scans as an add-on to my standard inspection. I have been charging 129 for the scan and many of my clients opt to have it included, so I have increased my revenue as a result.

However, with the resent finds, especially this one, I find myself wondering about all the possible stuff I could be missing. As an Inspector, I can’t blame the previous guy as he did not have IR technology. I’m rethinking my stance on offering IR as an additional service. I’m considering using it on every inspection and raising my rates accordingly.

This topic has been discussed many times before, but I would like to get opinions (pros vs cons) on including IR with every inspection.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Kevin

IR_0898.jpg

DC_0899.jpg

This would be an individual’s business decision.

I’m not at all amazed by the number of inspectors that have the equipment, with or without proper training, that are giving away this additional service in order to garnish a portion of the general inspection market.

Awful expensive CYA device if you don’t raise your fees. imo ymmv